How to style your books like an interior designer

Few things are better on a cold winter’s day than snuggling up with a cup of herbal tea and a great book. Personally, when I get a moment to relax, I love to sit and flick through my design books which bring to mind so many memories. I also think that beautiful books are stimulating objects to style a room with. Here, are some of my best book styling tips.

Try colour coding

Advertisement

I’m a sucker for it. This is how my books are organised at home. It’s like the visual person’s version of alphabetical order.

Mix things up

It looks more interesting when books are layered with sculptures, framed photos, flowers, candles or even glazed ceramic bowls.

Stack it

I like to lay books horizontally and stack them up at varying heights. This also stops books from sloping and looking messy.

Face them forward

We all know that old saying about not judging a book by its cover. However, some books, especially design and photography ones, have incredibly beautiful front covers that get hidden when you place them on a bookshelf conventionally. Instead, try standing the books up facing forward. Think of it like arranging literary works of art.

Keep them close

Books are meant to be read. So place your books where you can appreciate them easily. A coffee table is a great spot to stack beautiful books for everyday inspiration.

Want more inspiration? Check out these rooms full of beautifully styled books, along with my some of my fave bookcases.

Mia 1

From L to R: pinimg.com, houseandhome.com, vintageluxe.tumblr.com

Mia 2

From L to R: sunainteriordesign.com, papercitymag.com, greigedesign.blogspot.com.au

Mia 3

From L to R: visualle.tumblr.com, www.decorpad.com, apartment34.com

Mia 4

From L to R: harpersbazaar.com, theinteriorsaddict.com, crateandbarrel.com

Mia 5

From L to R: homedesignfind.com, shockblast.net, handmadecharlotte.com

MIa 6

From L to R: marktuckey.com.au, poliform.com.au, bludot.com.au

Mia 7

From L to R: westelm.com.au, corporateculture.com.au, orsonandblake.com.au

 

SHARE
Previous articleLamb steaks with mint and apple cider sauce
Next articleVegan baking! Raspberry, almond and orange cake
Mia Lake
Mia Lake is the Interior Design Director at Vic Lake Architect (VLA). VLA is a family business specialising in high end residential homes and boutique multi residential developments. The collaboration between sophisticated architecture and considered interiors, VLA approaches their projects holistically and cohesively. Mia’s design journey began at Sydney’s The Whitehouse Institute of Design. She was awarded a yearlong scholarship to further her studies internationally at Accademia Italiana. That year in Florence, Italy was a major influence on her career and design style. Prior to VLA, Mia’s has been fortunate to work at two leading Sydney interior design practices, Arent&Pyke and Briony Fitzgerald Design, specialising in high end residential interior design and custom made furnture. A strong construction knowledge, understanding and love of craftsmanship, and sensitivity to the client’s practical needs are the key ingredients to a Mia’s successful design. Mia loves using luxurious natural materials, colour and layering textures. She believes injecting personality into spaces and surrounding yourself with objects that tell stories of your live, makes you happy and inspires. A well designed space can truly improve the way you live.