If You Loved Gone Girl, Then Read These 7 Thrillers

Curl up with one of these page-turners.

The Woman In Cabin 10, novels, books, thrillers
Image: www.southerncurlsandpearls.com

Vices: Whether it’s drinking a truck load of coffee each day or watching The Bold And The Beautiful every afternoon, we’ve all got ’em. One of mine happens to be reading, and my favourite genre is suspense thrillers.

It all began with Stieg Larsson’s The Girl With A Dragon Tattoo, then I moved onto Dan Brown and Tana French, and before I knew it was I rapidly inhaling any book that promised to make the hair on the back of my neck stand on end.

So, unsurprisingly, Gone Girl and The Girl On The Train are two of my favourite books. If you’re on the same page, then you’re sure to love these novels ahead.

1The Woman In Cabin 10

thrillers, Gone Girl, The Woman in Cabin 10, books, novels

Ruth Ware sure knows how to write a page turner! Her newest book follows Lo Blacklock, a travel writer, whose latest assignment lands her on a luxury cruise line in the North Sea. Except things don’t go to plan. Lo witness a woman being thrown overboard, but all the passengers remain accounted for…

Shop The Woman In Cabin 10

2The Kind Worth Killing

thrillers, books, novels, The Kind Worth Killing

On a night flight from London to Boston, Ted Severson meets the stunning and mysterious Lily Kintner. After one two many martinis, they tell each other more than they should and begin to plot a murder. This chilling novel is filled with unexpected (and bloody) twists and turns, so it’ll definitely keep you on the edge of your seat.

Shop The Kind Worth Killing

3The Girl Before

The Girl Before, novels, books, thrillers, Gone girl

I had high expectations for J.P. Delaney’s thriller The Girl Before because I heard Ron Howard is set to direct the movie adaptation. Thankfully, it doesn’t disappoint. The story involves a traumatised woman who falls in love with a minimalist house and the man who designed it — only to discover that another woman died at the house three years earlier.

Shop The Girl Before

4Darkest Place

Darkest Place, books, novels, thrillers

My colleague, Emma recommended this book and I’m so glad she did. This psychological thriller totally freaked me out—in a good way! Carly Townsend has just moved into a new town and a new apartment, determined to leave the past behind, when she is woken by the shadow of a man next to her bed, silently watching her. Yet, there is no evidence that anyone has been inside.

Shop Darkest Place

5The Dry

The Dry, books, novels, thrillers

Grab a blanket, pour a glass of wine and turn your phone to silent, cause you’ll want to ignore everything until you finish Jane Harper’s new book. The Dry is set in a small Australian farming community, which is hiding some pretty big secrets. This is Australian crime fiction at its best!

Shop The Dry

6The Couple Next Door

The Couple Next Door, novels, books, thrillers

Anne and Marco Conti seem to have it all: the gorgeous home, the loving relationship, the beautiful baby girl. But one night, while they’re at a dinner party next door, a horrifying crime is committed. It’s fast-paced and utterly addictive.

Shop The Couple Next Door

7Little Black Lies

Little Black Lies, novels, books, thrillers

In Sharon Bolton’s dark and haunting novel, Little Black Lies, three people recount stories from the same six days, involving missing children within a small community on the Falkland Islands.

Shop Little Black Lies